Thursday, 17 April 2014

Rimutaka electorate's new boundaries

New boundaries for Rimutaka in 2014, from Elections NZ.
The Electoral Commission has announced the new electorate boundaries for the 2014 and 2017 elections. As expected Rimutaka's boundaries have seen some significant changes: the western hills suburbs of Kelson and Belmont have been moved into the Hutt South electorate, and Naenae and parts of Epuni added to the Rimutaka electorate. This has created a clearer north-south boundary between the Hutt's two seats, which is what local submitters were after.

This won't change our campaign for Rimutaka - we're still running a two-tick campaign and will be out in the community doing just that. Our challenge now is to communicate with the communities that have been added to the electorate.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Defamatory, profane or obscene comments will be removed, repeat offenders will be blocked.